Replacement Assembly Members Sworn In

Thirty new parliamentarians were sworn in Tuesday as part of a CPP-Funcinpec agreement for those with posts in the new government to give up their National Assembly seats.

Prince Norodom Ranariddh, the National Assembly president and head of Funcinpec, said the replacement of 16 Funcinpec and 14 CPP parliamentarians re­quired no change in law because all of the lawmakers stepped down voluntarily. He said the ar­rangement should help the As­sembly run more smoothly.

“This is not the law. It is the parties’ agreement,” the prince said. “It is for separation of powers and to solve the National As­sembly’s problems, such as lacking a quorum” during meetings.

The new parliamentarians were chosen for their positions by their respective parties.

The dual role of parliamentarians with jobs in government ministries has been cited as one reason the previous Assembly often had trouble mustering the 70 percent quorum required to meet.

Some Funcinpec lawmakers reportedly griped last week about having to choose between their parliamentary seats and posts in the new coalition government. Despite complaints, all those asked to step down did so.

Some senior officials in each party were exempt under the deal and will remain in the Na­tional Assembly, including Prime Minister Hun Sen (CPP) and Ed­ucation Minister Tol Lah (Fun).

Sam Rainsy Party parliamentarian Son Chhay said Hun Sen cannot step down because the Con­stitution requires the prime minister be a parliamentarian.

Son Chhay praised the move as beneficial to both legislative and executive branches of government.


Related Stories

Latest News

The Weekly DispatchA weekly newsletter from The Cambodia Daily delivering news, analysis and opinion to your inbox. Published every Friday at 11:30am. Sign up today.