Phnom Penh District Police Chiefs Reshuffled

The police chiefs of four districts in Phnom Penh were rotated on Friday in an apparent effort to strengthen the city’s security, municipal penal police chief Eng Sophea said.

Mr. Sophea explained that the chiefs of Tuol Kok, Prampi Makara, Chamkar Mon and Daun Penh were all changed.

Tuol Kok district police chief Huot Yarann has become chief of Prampi Makara district police, replacing Yin San, he said.

Mr. San has become police chief for Chamkar Mon district, replacing Ouch Sokhon.

Mr. Sokhon has become police chief for Daun Penh district, replacing Hun Sothy, who has been named police chief for Tuol Kok district.

Mr. Sophea said the move would improve municipal security by broadening each chief’s knowledge of the city.

“District police chiefs should not stay forever at the same office and should know how to control other districts too,” he said.

Mr. Sokhon, who previously led Chamkar Mon district police, said his new job in charge of Phnom Penh’s central Duan Penh district begins today and is daunting.

“I think that Daun Penh district looks like a little bit of a complex area,” he said.

[email protected]

Related Stories

Latest News

The Weekly DispatchA weekly newsletter from The Cambodia Daily delivering news, analysis and opinion to your inbox. Published every Friday at 11:30am. Sign up today.