NEC Releases Official Council Election Results

The National Election Committee last night released the official results of the May 18 district, provincial and municipal council elections, with the ruling CPP winning 2,540—or 76.4 percent—of the 3,324 positions that were available across the country.

The figures are almost identical to the figures released by the CPP the day after the election, which showed the ruling party winning 2,543 of the available seats. Of the total, 2,234 were won on district councils and 306 on provincial and municipal councils.

According to the figures, the CPP won majorities on all but two of the country’s 3,018 district councils and on each of the 24 provincial councils as well as the Phnom Penh municipal council.

The majorities will afford the ruling party control of budgets afforded to the councils, as well as the council chief positions.

The opposition CNRP won 765 seats across the various councils, picking up 679 district councilor positions and 86 provincial or municipal councilors. The party won majorities on a district council each in Prey Veng and Tbong Khmum provinces.

The figure of 679 district councilor positions is two higher than the 677 seats that opposition leader Sam Rainsy claimed to have won on the evening of the election but less than the 683 that the ruling party’s initial May 19 results showed the CNRP had won.

The only other parties to pick up seats were Funcinpec and the League for Democracy Party (LDP). The LDP won a single district council seat in Siem Reap province. The royalist Funcinpec party won 17 district council seats across seven provinces and a single seat on the Banteay Meanchey provincial council.

The May 18 council elections were indirect elections, with commune councilors—elected by popular vote in June 2012—voting on the councils for their district and provinces.

The CPP’s dominance in those commune council elections, which came a month before the creation of the CNRP as unified opposition, was reflected in its near clean sweep of the May 18 vote.

[email protected], [email protected]

Related Stories

Latest News